beauty · fashion

Gold glam festival makeup

2016-07-25_13.58.08[1]

Festival season is upon us; the long summer nights, dancing til dawn, and of course wonderful and unique festival fashion. I’m heading to Reading festival at the end of August, so I decided to do a tutorial on the makeup look I’m planning to wear. Its simple and subtle but looks stunning and will last all day which is perfect for festivals…

IMG_2175

Firstly apply foundation, I recommend a powder mineral foundation like this Intelligent Cosmetics one, as it gives you flawless medium coverage and it won’t slip and slide like liquid foundations tend to, so it’ll withstand sweat and rain. Next conceal any imperfections, and finish with a mattifying powder, such as Stay Matte from Rimmel London, to help keep you shine free all day. You can also add bronzer under your cheekbones to subtly define your face. For festivals, I love retractable brushes like the one seen in the picture, as it helps keep them clean in your bag.

2016-07-25_14.08.53[1]

Now conceal any dark circles and fill in your brows as usual; I love Avon’s Perfect Brow Kit, as the powder creates naturally full brows and the setting wax keeps your brows in place all day. Now using a black liquid eyeliner, draw a sharp cat eye. Also define your lower lash line using a very thin line of kohl eyeliner. Now things start getting interesting, using  a gold glitter eyeliner (or silver if you prefer cool tones) draw a thick line on top of your cat eye and add a little on your lower lash line. I’ve used Glam Crystals in Funk from Collection 2000, it’s a beautiful gold colour and lasts for hours, not to mention being very affordable. Finish off with generous coats of mascara.

IMG_2174

Next take a gold cream eyeshadow like this Colour Tattoo shadow from Maybelline in Eternal Gold, highlight your brow bone and blend down towards the crease. Now this is optional, but I also used a small amount of the cream eyeshadow to highlight my cheekbones to add a beautiful golden shine.

IMG_2173

IMG_2177

Finally I finish off with this Stargazer lipstick which I found on Amazon. Its a gorgeous golden bronze colour, and the formula lasts for hours which is perfect for festivals. And of course finish off with your favourite setting spray to ensure your makeup lasts all day- I’m using L.A girl mattifying setting spray which is perfect for my oily skin.

2016-07-25_13.58.25[1]

IMAG0315[1]

IMAG0308[1]

This is the complete look, I added a faux rose gold septum ring as a finishing touch. I hope you enjoyed this. Is anyone else going to a festival this summer? Let me know!

2 thoughts on “Gold glam festival makeup

Leave a Reply

