beauty · lifestyle

Coconut oil: worth the hype?

IMG_2306IMG_2304

Coconut oil is the latest beauty craze. Packed with vitamins, its supposedly brilliant for your skin and your hair, and is completely natural. I wanted to try some as I’d heard so much about it, so I picked a small 125ml pot up from Superdrug for £2.49 which I thought was such a bargain. I don’t really know what I was expecting, but I didn’t realise the product was solid, however it easily transforms to an oil when you rub it between your fingers, and of course it smells lovely. Plus seeing as this product has multiple uses, its great value for money.

IMG_2152

You can use the coconut oil on your hair, which worked out really well for me. I love using it before shampooing as a hair mask- just apply a generous amount and leave it in for 1-2 hours, and it leaves you with incredibly soft, nourished hair. I also like to use a small amount after washing my hair as a conditioner simply rub a small amount into the ends of your hair when it’s still wet and it helps to condition and strengthen your hair, and leave it smelling great. However be careful not to use too much, when I first tried using coconut oil as a leave in conditioner I used rather a lot, thinking it would all just be absorbed into my hair, but it left my hair rather greasy, so just remember that a little goes a long way.

Coconut oil can also be used as a lip balm, which I thought would be brilliant as coconut oil is known for its moisturizing properties and my lips get extremely dry. However I must say I was disappointed. Oil is very thin and so it’s not the nicest feeling when you apply it onto your lips. I also felt like it didn’t actually do anything, it felt like the oil just sat on the surface of my lips and didn’t absorb, so I wouldn’t recommend coconut oil as a lip balm. I much prefer using a thicker lip balm such as Vaseline as this feels much nicer on the lips and is easily absorbed.

IMG_2307IMG_2310

Finally, coconut oil can be used as a skin moisturizer. I was reluctant to try it on my face as my skin is quite temperamental and doesn’t react well when I change the products I use, plus my skin is oily enough as it is. So instead I just used it as body lotion, and I must say, I was very happy with the results. I often get very dry skin on my knees and my heels, but just a small amount of the oil softened and hydrated my skin without causing any irritation, so I’d definitely recommend the oil as an alternative to your usual body lotion. Plus many lotions have dozens of unnatural ingredients in them, but this has no harsh perfumes or chemicals which is brilliant. As you can see in the picture above, my heels were very dry (as a result of blisters) but after using the coconut oil my heels are much smoother.

Overall, I would recommend coconut oil. Although I didn’t like it as a lip balm, I thought it made a great body lotion and hair conditioner, and it leaves you smelling lovely. Coconut oil is available from Superdrug and most health and beauty stores.

IMG_2304

Leave a Reply

