beauty · fashion · lifestyle

August favourites

IMG_2463

It’s nearly September, which of course means going back to college, but before the month is over, I thought I’d do my first monthly favourites post. I see these all over YouTube and other blogs so I thought it’d be fun to do one, especially seeing as I’ve found some great purchases this month. So here are my favourite items I brought in August…

IMG_2414IMG_2410

First is my Kylie Lip Kit in the colour Candy K. I already did a review of this so feel free to check that out, but I love the colour of the matte liquid lipstick; it’s a dark nude pink which was exactly what I was looking for, and the formula is velvety smooth and smells amazing. I was unsure about the lipliner, like I said in my review, it was a slightly different colour to the lipstick and was very difficult to sharpen. However I loved the liquid lipstick so much that it made the purchase completely worth it.

IMG_2452

Next I have this coral zigzag print throw from Primark. It was only £5 so I thought I might as well get it seeing as it was such a bargain, and I absolutely love it. The colour is gorgeous and the print adds a modern touch so it looks lovely in my bedroom. It’s also excellent quality which I didn’t expect seeing as it was so cheap, but it still looks brand new and is so luxuriously soft- it’ll be perfect for the colder weather.

IMG_2462IMG_2457

I also brought a couple of t-shirts this month which I absolutely love. Firstly I have this white Marina and the Diamonds t-shirt which I brought on eBay; I was thrilled when I found it as I love Marina’s music and I love the grungy, simplistic design of the shirt. It’s also very soft and very good quality. Next I brought this black t-shirt from Reading Festival a few days ago. It has all the acts printed on the back of it so I brought it to remember my experience there. Once again, it’s also very good quality which is brilliant.

IMG_2453IMG_2454

Next I have this Maybelline Illegal Definition mascara. I’d always heard people raving about Maybelline’s mascara but I’d never tried it until now, however it certainly didn’t disappoint. It lengthened my lashes greatly and coated even the smallest lashes. There were also no clumps and the mascara stayed on all day, yet was still easy to remove. I brought this on Amazon and I haven’t seen it in store before so it may online be available online, but I would definitely recommend this mascara.

IMG_2456

Another item of clothing that I brought this month is this denim hoodie jacket that I purchased from Hollister for £39 which is relatively affordable compared to some of their prices. I saw it ages ago and I absolutely loved it so I finally brought it this month, and I’m so glad I did. I love the mix of denim and sweater material, it’s unique but also super casual and comfortable, so it’ll be perfect for college. Like most Hollister items, it’s excellent quality and it’s very thick and warm so it’ll be great for when it starts to get colder.

IMG_2461

My favourite read this month was ‘The God of Small Things’ by Arundhati Roy. This book was on our summer reading list for English Literature and to be honest, I’d never heard of it before, but it was one of, if not the best book I’ve ever read. It tells the story of twins Esther and Rahel growing up in India, and their experience with tragedy, discrimination and family ties. This book so effectively tackles dire social issues such as racism and religious prejudice, and has that ‘The Boy in Striped Pyjama’s’ complex- such horrific events are being told through the eyes of the young, innocent children which makes this book such an emotive, interesting read.

IMG_2458IMG_2460

My favourite nail colour’s of the month are these three polishes from Collection 2000- Lilac Daze, Cerise and Strawberry Gold. I brought these as they were only £2.99 each and I’d been wanting a pale lavender polish for ages, plus I love dark berry varnishes. They’re brillant quality and usually I only use one coat as the colours are so vibrant. They also last for a good few days with no chips at all which is great as some nail polishes I own seem to chip on the first day of wearing them. As you can see in the picture, I’m wearing Cerise on my nails, and Strawberry Gold on my ring finger nail. I adore berry coloured nail polish as they go with everything and can be both glamourous or grungy, so these colours are perfect for me.

Untitled

Finally, I have this notebook which I only just ordered from Redbubble.com for £8. If you’ve read my previous posts, you’ll know I’m a massive Hayley Kiyoko fan, however it’s very hard to find her merchandise online, so I was thrilled when I found this notebook with lyrics from her hit single ‘Girls like Girls’. And me being gay myself means I love this notebook even more. Plus I always like to keep a notebook with me wherever I go as I love writing and you never know when you’ll think of an idea for a blog post that you want to write down, so I have a collection of cute notebooks already.

That’s it for my August favourites, I hope you enjoyed this!

Leave a Reply

