beauty

Purple lipstick: Hit or miss?

joan-smalls-met-gala-purple-lipstick1

Purple/lavender lipstick has definitely become a trend, with celebrities such as Lorde, Joan Smalls and Ariana Grande rocking a purple lip. I’m not big on bold lip colours, but I thought I’d give it a try. I ordered the Barry M lip paint from Amazon in the shade ‘palest lavender’ as I didn’t want to try a super bright purple lip. Delivery only took a couple of days and the product came in perfect condition which is great.

IMG_2466IMG_2465IMG_2464

I really like the simplistic matte black packaging, and as you can see, the lipstick is a warm pale purple shade. The formula was nice and creamy so it felt very smooth on my lips, however it was quite blotchy as you can see in the before and after pictures below, so I had to wait for it to dry and then apply mulitple layers to ensure none of my natural lip colour was showing. This was disappointing as I as expecting the colour to be more vibrant, plus the wide top of the lipstick meant it was very hard to get a precise shape, and I had to clean up the edges with concealer at the end as the lipstick had feathered.

IMG_2467

IMG_2470

As for the colour itself, it was probaby a little harh on my skin tone, however I did really like the lavender shade; its quirky yet feminine, and a great modern alternative to pink lipstick. It looked great with a simple black cat eye, however I’m not sure what kind of outfits I would wear it with as I just feel it would be hard to make this colour work with casual outfits which are my go to for everyday wear. So although I liked the colour, I don’t know how much I’ll wear it, plus the actual product isn’t the best quality (although that’s not suprising as it was very cheap). Overall, I like the purple lip trend, but I wouldn’t recommend this lipstick.

Hope you enjoyed this!

image sourced from: http://s1212.photobucket.com/user/biancazen1/media/biancazen2/biancazen2060/joan-smalls-met-gala-purple-lipstick1.jpg.html

3 thoughts on “Purple lipstick: Hit or miss?

Leave a Reply

