beauty

Maybelline colour tattoo eyeshadow: Review

I’m not a massive fan of eyeshadows, partly because I don’t have the time for it in the morning, and also I have incredibly oily skin and most shadows tend to crease or wear off completely. And as you probably know, I don’t like bright colours so I’m not a fan of highly pigmented shadows. However a month or so ago I found Maybelline’s colour tattoo 24 hour cream eyeshadow in my local drugstore and the colours were so beautiful I decided to try one, and I just purchased another one as I loved it so much (its also officially called ‘color tattoo’ but I’m British and we like to be difficult). So the first shade I brought was Eternal Gold which is a pure gold shimmer shade, as you can see I’ve already used it quite a bit…

img_2484

The colour is very sheer which I love, as although I think gold tones are lovely I wouldn’t want a shadow that was too intense, especially for an everyday look. It is buildable so you can create a stronger look however I tried this and the shadow began to look a little yellow, and it tends to clump when you have a thicker layer which isn’t ideal, so this probably isn’t the best product if you want a really intense pop of colour, but for me it was perfect for just adding a sheer gold sheen across my lids. The colour I just brought is called Pink Gold; to be honest its not the kind of colour I’d usually go for but I’ve seen so many girls rocking a soft blush eyeshadow I thought I’d give this colour a try, and I actually liked it a lot more than I was expecting to.

img_2486

Pink Gold is the colour on the right (and Eternal Gold is on the left) and as you can see its a light rosy pink- it looks absolutely gorgeous paired with a matte brown eyeshadow, and isn’t too intense, plus I’ve often found pink/red eyeshadows have made my eyes look irritated but the shimmer helps you avoid that pink swollen look which no one wants. The shadows are very good quality, and they feel velet smooth, however be sure to only use a small amount at a time as like I said, they can clump if you use a very thick layer. I also mentioned that most shadows tend to crease because my skin is so oily, however these did actually last all day, and seeing as it’s a cream formula you don’t get any fall out like you do with powder shadows so I’d give this product full marks for staying power.

The product wasn’t too difficult to remove, however I did have to scrub more compared to when I remove regular powder eyeshadows, and I could still see a few spots of glitter on my eyes when I woke up the next day. However I would definitely recommend this product- beautiful colours paired with all day staying power (it could actually withstand enough oil to deep fry chips i.e. the amount of oil my face produces everyday) so overall I’d say this is a pretty brilliant creation from Maybelline.

One thought on “Maybelline colour tattoo eyeshadow: Review

Leave a Reply

