fashion

Velvet: the trend of the season

Velvet clothes are one of the most popular autumn/winter trends this year, with celebrities like Kim, Cara and Kendall all rocking velvet on the red carpet. However it doesn’t have to be for glamorous nights out, it can be worn in the day time to create a trendy, yet casual look. I’ve picked up a few velvet clothing items recently (and added a few to my Christmas list) so these are some of my pieces that are perfect for embracing the velvet trend…

img_2637

First I have this maroon long-sleeved velvet look dress from Bershka which was only £17.99, although it looks like it could be worth a lot more. I love that this dress is very fitted which gives it a sultry look, however the long sleeves and polo neck stop it from being overly revealing; plus polo necks are another major trend of the season so this dress ticks multiple boxes. I also think dark red colours are perfect for autumn and work well with my colouring. I probably wouldn’t choose this dress if it was just a plain cotton fabric, however the velvet makes it look much more interesting and glamorous, and it’s great for adding a different texture to your outfit. Obviously it would be great for a party, however pairing it with black tights and a black jacket (I usually go for my faux leather jacket) makes it the perfect trendy day time look.

img_2638

Next I have this cropped green velvet jacket which was £12.99 from Oxfam’s online vintage store and is supposedly from the 1980s. Green is another colour that I think compliments my hair and skin tone well, and this jacket is a very subtle green so it’s not overpowering. I also love cropped jackets as they always look trendy and highlight your waist thus giving you a more curvy silhouette. I can’t decide if this material is more velvet or suede, however it looks and feels gorgeous and the texture adds interest to this block colour jacket. It’s perfect for those cold autumn days as it’s relatively warm, and I love wearing it with a black roll neck top and black a-line skirt to complete the 80s look and make sure the jacket is the focus of the outfit.

shoes.png

Now for my velvet wish list, I put these gorgeous blue boots on from New Look on my Christmas list this year. The design of these is so simple but the velvet gives them such an interesting texture and makes them perfect for a party, plus I love the deep blue colour; it’s a refreshing change from classic black ankle boots. Heels are perfect for me as I’m petite so they add a bit of height and elongate my legs, and the slightly rounded heels make these boots even more unique and quirky, plus thicker heels like these are much easier to walk in so are perfect for long nights out.

pnnap

Next on my list I have this simple black velvet cami which is from Topshop. Camis are an essential wardrobe item for summer or for wearing under your winter clothes to keep warm, and this cami would also be perfect for a Christmas party. Super comfortable and effortless, but the velvet keeps it glamorous and the v-neck makes it a little more sexy than just a plain cami. Black is my go to colour for winter, it’s sophisticated and so easy to match, plus it suits any colouring, so this cami would look great on anyone.

anfiaonoia

Finally, this velvet bralet from New Look is definitely going in my shopping basket. Once again it’s a beautiful dark red colour which I love, and I particularly love triangle bralets as they’re so flattering and look beautiful under a mesh or translucent top. Personally I find bralets a lot more comfortable as they provide a little bit of supprort without the uncomfortable underwire and there’s some beautiful designs out there, this being a great example. I usually opt for bralets with a pattern or design on howeve the texture of the velvet adds interest whilst still being simplistic, and I think this would look gorgeous under a sheer top for a party look.

So that’s all for my favourite velvet pieces of the season. I hope you enjoyed this!

2 thoughts on “Velvet: the trend of the season

Leave a Reply

