beauty

Makeup haul: e.l.f and colourpop

Recently I’ve purchased a few new makeup items which I love and have been given some as given some as gifts too. I’ve been getting into more colourful makeup recently as I think it’s fun to experiment with bright colours, plus I love shimmer and glitter makeup so the majority of makeup in this haul is very bold. I’m also a big fan of e.l.f as I think they’re probably one of the highest quality brands out there, but their products are also very affordable, and I’ve heard rave reviews about colour pop so I was excited to try one of their products for the first time. So here’s a collective haul of all the makeup items I’ve brought/received in the last couple of weeks…

img_2737

First I have this set of five glitter eyeliners which are from e.l.f and were a Valentines present from my girlfriend. I love shimmery eye looks so these eyeliners are perfect for me, and I love the selection of colours; the white liner is perfect for highlighting your brow bone and inner corner and I particularly like the bronze eyeliner as an alternative to plain brown eyeliner. The liners are very pigmented so they’re great for either layering over eyeshadow or just using on their own, and so far I’ve had no issues with them smudging off throughout the day. The caps also come with a built in sharpener which I think is a brilliant idea for when you’re on the go as it means you’ll always have a sharpener just in case.

img_2738

Next I have these two liquid eyeshadows from e.l.f (and also from my girlfriend) in Rose Gold and Liquid Gold. I think the turquoise packaging is gorgeous, and the eyeshadows themselves are very smooth and high quality, plus liquid eyeshadows are more pigmented than powder, and you don’t have the problem of fall out. Both of these colours are incredibly beautiful (I particularly like the Rose Gold shadow) and they’d be great for using on a night out, or for just creating a metallic eye makeup look. I also like these liquid eyeshadows as opposed to powder shadows as due to my oily skin, powders tend to crease even when I use primer, whereas liquid eyeshadows have much better staying power, so they’re great for those who have oily skin, or if you’re just going to be wearing your makeup for a long period of time.

img_2739

This is a silver cream highlighter stick (although the shimmer isn’t visible on camera) that I got off Amazon because it was cheap and I was just curious to try a cream higlighter, however I was pleasantly suprised. It’s very pigmented and feels very smooth on the skin, plus it’s a very pure silver colour which works great with cool skin tones, and is more muted and natural than gold highlighter. My only issue with it is that it isn’t as shimmery as my usual MUA highlighter and so can look a bit flat as opposed which isn’t ideal for a highlighter, however I don’t mind considering it was only around £2. It’s also very small and compact so it’s great for keeping in your bag and using on the go.

img_2740

This Colourpop matte metallic lipstick in Kween was a very belated Christmas present from my friend Chloe. As I said, I haven’t tried any colourpop products before, but I’ve frequently heard people raving about them so I was so excited to try this lipstick. I love the sleek silver packaging with holographic lettering, and the colour of the lipstick is beautiful; it’s a matte warm berry red colour, and it has gold metallic undertones. The metallic tones are subtle, however they make the colour look very glamorous, and I often find matte lipsticks can look flat and dull, so a hint of metallic shimmer is a great way to combat this. It feels incredibly smooth and isn’t sticky at all (which means it feels very comfortable on your lips) and the benefit of liquid lipsticks is that they last all day with no reapplication.

img_2741

Finally, this No.7 Beautifully Matte foundation in Cool Vanilla has become my new everyday foundation. I’ve been looking for a matte foundation for a while to help combat my oily skin however most foundations I’ve tried have clung to the dry patches on my forehead (caused by my acne treatment). However this foundation leaves me with a smooth flawless finish and helps reduce shine considerably, plus it has a very light feel so it’s comfortable enough for everyday wear. It’s lasted better than any foundation I’ve ever tried and is also able to cover my acne scars. I would definitely recommend it to anyone with oily skin, particularly if you have dry patches too.

6 thoughts on “Makeup haul: e.l.f and colourpop

Leave a Reply

