beauty

Foundation routine for oily/combination skin (+taking a break from blogging)

Before I start my tutorial:

Since I started my blog last year I’ve been pretty good at posting regularly and I like to to post mulitple times a week. I don’t feel I have to, I genuinely enjoy writing and its a good outlet for me, however writing regularly has become increasingly difficult for me.

Obviously I have exams approaching and although they’re not the be all and end all of everything I like to do well, and my chosen universities have high entry grades so I feel I need to put everything I have into revision and preparing myself as much as possible.

My health is also suffering for various reasons and I feel I just don’t have as much time and energy to write.  I still intend to post occasionally and I have a lot of things I’ve been wanting to write about. Once my exams finish in June I want to go back to my usual posting schedule of every three days, but for now I’m taking a little break from blogging. This is a just post I wrote while ago and hadn’t published yet…

swrily-of-designs-clipart-1

Oily skin is common, particularly in teens, however it makes finding a foundation routine difficult as a lot of makeup tends to slip and slide throughout the day, and mattifying foundations can be very thick and heavy. Another issue I have is that due to the acne cream I use (and now the cold weather too) I tend to get drier skin around my chin and on the center of my forehead which matte foundations cling to and this makes my skin look flakey. Hydrating foundations are a good way to combat this however this tends to make my skin more oily in appearance, so creating a foundation routine that works for me has been a struggle. My skin is mainly oily, however I look for combination skin/makeup products that will help prevent flakiness, so this foundation routine is ideal for those who either just have oily skin, or have oily skin with dry patches.

IMG_2304

First, ensure you cleanse and moisturize your skin; without proper skin care you’ll never achieve a flawless finish with your foundation. I use the Simple oil absorbing moisturizer which is ideal for oily, acne prone skin as it is hydrating and gentle but does reduce shine a lot more compared to Simple’s regular moisturizer, so I’d definitely recommend this. To combat any dry patches, I use a small amount of coconut oil on the dry areas only and this gives deep hydration to your skin. This is a great option if you only have certain patches of skin that get dry as coconut oil is brilliant at providing long-lasting hydration and just applying it on dry areas means that you can use an oil absorbing moisturizer on the rest of your face to reduce oiliness, so you’re tending to both your dry and oily areas.

img_2741

Now for foundation; I’m using the No.7 Beautifully Matte foundation in ‘cool vanilla’ which is available for £14.50 from Boots UK. I apply this over my face using a buffing brush as I think this is the fastest way to get an even finish, and brushes are much easier to clean than beauty blenders. This foundation is ideal as it’s a matte foundation that gives you a shine free finish, however it has a light velvety texture unlike many matte foundations that are have heavy mousse textures, so it feels comfortable on your skin. This foundation is also ideal as it’s not as drying as a lot of other matte foundations so I’ve had no problems with it clinging to dry patches, meaning it really does give me a flawless complexion. Finally it lasts all day and I haven’t had to touch up my makeup once when wearing this foundation so it’s great for very oily skin as it won’t slide around during the day.

Next I use the Collection 2000 Lasting Perfection concealer in ‘fair’ and apply this under my eyes and on any blemishes or imperfections and I just blend this out with my fingers. A lot of beauty bloggers/youtubers rave about this concealer and I can see why because I’d never switch to another concealer now. It has very high coverage which is great for acne prone skin, and it lasts all day with no smudging which is also good for oily skins. However it still feels light on the skin (which is ideal for your delicate under eye area) and is fairly hydrating; it never makes my skin appear flakey and gives it a smooth flawless appearance so it’s perfect for the dry areas on my face.

For powder I use the Rimmel London Stay Matte pressed powder in ‘001 transparent’. This powder is very affordable at only £3.99 and is very mattifying, so it creates a shine free look and helps your makeup last all day, however it has a very natural appearance unlike some powders that can give you a cakey finish. Finally I set my makeup with my L.A. Girl Mattifying setting spray. I’m not overly fussy about setting sprays, however this one is cheap and does really help keep your makeup in place whilst absorbing oil, and your setting spray is a great way to reduce shine as it won’t affect your dry patches. It also feels very light and refreshing; once I’ve sprayed it on my face I can’t even feel it on there, whereas I find some setting sprays can feel like they’ve left a film over your skin and it can feel more uncomfortable.

And that’s the finished look. I’ve found by using this routine my foundation looks flawless all day, shine is reduced and my skin doesn’t look flakey at all. Thanks for reading!

4 thoughts on “Foundation routine for oily/combination skin (+taking a break from blogging)

Leave a Reply

